Uncanny Inhumans #0

The Once and Future King 

Reviewing Uncanny Inhumans #0 by Charles Soule, Steve McNiven, Jay Leisten & Justin Ponsor.

UNCINH2015000-DC11-9b9a1
Typical.You wait months for a book with no narrative exposition to come along, then two arrive within weeks of each other.

Much in the vein of Batgirl: Endgame, Uncanny Inhumans #0 is a book that relies on the close interaction of writer and artist in order to create a visual narrative. While not as extreme in its lack of dialogue as the former title (there are some spoken words that progress the story, just not from the main protagonist Black Bolt) this character driven tale owes a great deal to the artistic talents of Steve McNiven who, quite subtly and beautifully, illustrates writer Charles Soule's script.

If, as is rumoured, Marvel intend to make The Inhumans their new X-Men, then this book goes a long way to show just how big a franchise they could be with Black Bolt at the helm, because this is probably the finest interpretation of the character since his first outing back in Fantastic Four #45.

From spectacular battle scenes to more quite introspective moments, Soule does a tremendous job of giving the character real personality (bearing in mind that Black Bolt does not speak) with McNivens' detailed facial expressions and use of body language fleshing out Soules' directions to the full, aided admirably by the clear ink work of Jay Leisten.

Whether or not Uncanny Inhumans progresses beyond this book remains to be seen (basically, this feels like a one shot book and, no further issues have been solicited by Marvel) but it would be a shame not to see this creative team have another stab at an Inhumans title together. In a perfect world, that would be a solo Medusa book, simply because of Soule's writing on this, his other book involving the same characters (Inhuman) and his run on She-Hulk (you want strong female characters? look no further than this vastly underrated series)as well as McNivens glorious rendering of the Inhuman Queen here, a magnificent combination of sensuality and power that channels the Pre-Raphaelite influenced work of Barry Windsor Smith from back in the day.

On the whole, a highly recommended book that in years to come may be seen as a turning point for Black Bolt and The Inhumans … Uncanny or otherwise.

3 comments

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.